Listen to Beatrice Berrut's latest album: Athanor

The latest album of concert pianist Beatrice Berrut features pieces written for piano and orchestra by Franz Liszt. Immerse yourself in the passionate and visionary universe of the founder of the Neue Weimarer Schule.

Athanor: de התנור (ha tanur) the furnace.
The furnace used by alchemists in their search for the philosopher’s matter is indispensable for the maturation of the Great Work. By extension, this furnace, in the shape of a matrix, has become a symbol of their quest for perfection and the absolute. And that is where Liszt agreed with the alchemists. Eternally dissatisfied, he said that ‘the persistent search for the best possible characterises the true artist’. This search not only had an aesthetic dimension but was also of a moral order, as attest his homage to Paganini: ‘The artist’s role is to awaken and maintain in souls the enthusiasm and passion of Beauty, so close to the passion of Good’.

Why these three works on a same album?

All three were, of course, written for piano and large orchestra. However it seems to me that there is a strong link between them beyond form. Their joint particularity is their very long gestation: it took 23 years between the first sketch and public performance of the first Concerto, 22 years between the earliest sketches and definitive publication of the second, and 20 years between the rough draft of Totentanz and the version recorded here. The twenty-odd years’ gestation that these works spent in Liszt’s athanor was evidently determining: without those years of doubt and constant rethinking of the first sketches, these concertos would never have come down to us in such accomplished form.

Franz Liszt’s work is a magnificent gift to mankind, which Beethoven had predicted when Liszt was 11: ‘Go! You are one of the fortunate ones for you will bring joy and happiness to many others! There is nothing better or finer!’

Beatrice Berrut, Athanor

Life shaped by music

1985, Valais, Switzerland: Beatrice Berrut, born in the Swiss Alps in the canton of Valais, spends most of her childhood with her sister conquering the hills and mountains of her home valley. The inspiration found in the marvellous landscape, the stoic Alpine giants carved ancient rock, and the fascination by nature itself accompany her to this day on her musical journeys.

Concerts & Events

The best way to experience music is live and in good company. Share these particular moments of emotion and visit Beatrice Berrut’s concerts in your area.

Beatrice Berrut

Date City Venue Country
06/10/18 Kortrijk Concertstudio BE
Time: 20:00. Address: Conservatoriumplein 2.

Piano recital. Transcriptions of works by Mahler and Wagner, piano works by Liszt.

Buy Tickets
20/10/18 Raiding Liszt Festival Raiding AT
Time: 19:30.

Piano recital. Works by Liszt and Bach. Recorded by Austrian National Radio.

Buy Tickets
13/01/19 Montpellier Piano Intime FR
Time: 18:00. Address: 6, Rue Levat.

Piano recital. Works by Liszt and transcriptions of works by Mahler.

Buy Tickets

VIDEO | Mahler’s midsummer night’s dream

150 150 Beatrice Berrut

Mahler spent the summer of 1893 in Steinbach on the Attersee near Salzburg. That year he became a “summer composer,” establishing the pattern that would suit him the rest of his life—working on his music during the long summer days in the countryside, then returning to the hectic life of a conductor and the tiresome…

read more

VIDEO | Liszt and Murnau : a common fascination for Faust

150 150 Beatrice Berrut

The demon Mephisto has a bet with an Archangel that he can corrupt a righteous man’s soul and destroy in him what is divine. If he succeeds, the Devil will win dominion over earth. The Devil delivers a plague to the village where Faust, an elderly alchemist, lives. Though he prays to stop the death…

read more

Programme concept: Exile

1024 683 Beatrice Berrut

Facing exile as well as being away from homelands has been the source of inspiration and creativity for composers and musicians since centuries. Wagner composes his Wesendonck Lieder when he was banished from Sachsen and is forced to live in Zürich. Mahler refers to himself as being homeless and exiled threefold: „As a Bohemian among…

read more

You would like to get more insights into the art of piano play?

Visit the journal section or register for the newsletter of Beatrice Berrut.

    Load More

    Join our Newsletter

    We'll send you newsletters with news, tips & tricks. No spams here.

    Contact Us

    We'll send you newsletters with news, tips & tricks. No spams here.

Entdecken Sie das neueste Album von Beatrice Berrut: ATHANOR

Mit der CD Athanor präsentiert Beatrice Berrut ausgewählte Werke für Klavier und Orchester vom ungarischen Komponisten Franz Liszt. Tauchen Sie ein in die Klangwelt des Genius Liszt der Zeitlebens schon für seine außerordentliche Virtuosität bekannt war.

Der Athanor ist ein Ofen, den die Alchimisten für ihre Suche nach der philosophischen Materie verwendeten und der für die Reifung des Opus magnum unerlässlich war. Im weiteren Sinne ist der gebärmutterähnlich gestaltete Ofen auch zum Symbol alchimistischen Strebens nach dem Absoluten und Perfekten geworden. Und genau hierin stimmen die Alchemisten mit Liszt überein. Er, der sich nie zufrieden gab, behauptete, dass „sich der wahre Künstler durch beharrliches Streben nach dem Allerbesten auszeichnet“. Dieses Streben hatte nicht nur eine rein ästhetische, sondern auch eine ethische Dimension, wie er anlässlich von Paganinis Tod bemerkte: „[…] Die Begeisterung für das Schöne, welche der Liebe zum Guten so Nahe steht, in den Gemüthern wecken und nähren, – das ist die Aufgabe, die der Künstler sich stellen muss.“

Warum die zwei Klavierkonzerte und der Totentanz?

Was bringt eigentlich diese drei Werke in ein Album? Zunächst sind natürlich alle drei für Klavier und großes Orchester geschrieben. Doch besteht meiner Meinung nach eine noch stärkere Verbindung zwischen den dreien als die formelle. Allen gemeinsam ist nämlich ihr besonders langes Heranreifen. Ganze 23 Jahre liegen zwischen dem ersten Entwurf und der öffentlichen Aufführung des ersten Klavierkonzerts, 22 Jahre zwischen den ersten Skizzen und der definitiven Veröffentlichung des zweiten Klavierkonzerts, und 20 Jahre zwischen der Rohfassung und der hier eingespielten Partiturversion des Totentanzes.

Das Oeuvre von Liszt ist ein großartiges Geschenk an die Menschheit, so wie es ihm bereits mit elf Jahren Beethoven prophezeite: „Geh! Du bist ein Glücklicher! Denn Du wirst viele andere Menschen beglücken und erfreuen! Es gibt nichts Besseres, Schöneres!“

Beatrice Berrut, Athanor

Das Leben der Konzertpianistin

1985, Wallis in der Schweiz: Beatrice Berrut, geboren im Wallis am Fuße der Schweizer Alpen, verbringt ihre Kindheit mit ihrer Schwester auf tief verschneiten Hängen – mit zwei fährt sie schon Ski – und so manche felsige Majestät erklimmend. Diese Nähe und die tiefe Verbundenheit zu den steinernen Riesen ihrer Heimat und der Natur begleiten sie noch heute auf ihren musikalischen Reisen.

Konzerte & Veranstaltungen

Die schönste Art Musik zu erleben ist live und am besten in guter Begleitung. Teilen Sie besondere Momente der Kunst der Künste und besuchen Sie ausgewählte Konzerte und Veranstaltungen von Beatrice Berrut.

Beatrice Berrut

Datum Stadt Location Land
20/10/18 Raiding Liszt Festival Raiding AT
Zeit: 19:30.

Piano recital. Works by Liszt and Bach. Recorded by Austrian National Radio.

Buy Tickets
18/12/18 Bourg-en-Bresse Théâtre FR
Zeit: 20:30. Adresse: 11, Place de la Grenette.

Les Nuits Musicales de l’Ain. Piano Recital, works by Schubert and Liszt.

13/01/19 Montpellier Piano Intime FR
Zeit: 18:00. Adresse: 6, Rue Levat.

Piano recital. Works by Liszt and transcriptions of works by Mahler.

Buy Tickets

LUX AETERNA : die Wege des Geistes

1024 598 Beatrice Berrut

Sowohl Bach als auch Liszt gelten als mystische Komponisten. Sie waren tief religiös und verbrachten viel Zeit im Gebet, und haben ihre Musik Gott gewidmet. Auch wenn die Religion heute nicht mehr so wahrgenommen wird und nicht die gleiche Rolle wie damals in der Gesellschaft spielt, ist die Beziehung dieser Komponisten zu etwas Größerem, immer…

weiterlesen

Dunkles Wien : die Schatten der Imperialen

1024 669 Beatrice Berrut

Es versteckt sich hinter der Pracht der Kaiserstadt, im Puls eines Walzers, es kriecht unter den vergoldeten Palästen, das andere Gesicht Wiens zeigt sich manchmal. Das dunkle, das finstere, das das Freud enthüllte. Es tritt kurz in einer der wenigen moll Werken von Mozart auf und behauptet sich dann gnadenlos in der langen Nacht Schönbergs…

weiterlesen

VIDEO | Der Sommernachtstraum Mahlers

150 150 Beatrice Berrut

Vollendet hat Mahler seine dritte Symphonie 1896 in seinem Komponierhäuschen in Steinbach am Attersee; in diesem Ort verbrachte er zu jener Zeit seine Sommerurlaube, und sass jeden morgen ab 6.30 am Schreibtisch. Er äußerte sich über dieses Werk in Briefen und Gesprächen ausführlicher als über jede andere seiner Kompositionen. Die Symphonie sei eine Arte Schöpfung.…

weiterlesen

Sie wollen mehr über die Kunst des Klavierspiels erfahren?

Im Journal blicken Sie hinter die Kulissen des künstlerischen Schaffens von Beatrice Berrut.

    Load More

    Join our Newsletter

    We'll send you newsletters with news, tips & tricks. No spams here.

    Contact Us

    We'll send you newsletters with news, tips & tricks. No spams here.